Don’t forget to have a good time

So it’s Monday. Everyone I know pretty much hates Mondays. But when you don’t have a REAL job… The beginning of the week isn’t so different from Sunday. IN FACT, the beginning of the week isn’t so bad at all.

Daisy LOVES Mondays.

I started today off with a workout from The Fitnessista’s “Summer Shape-up”. Don’t be fooled by her sweet name… She’ll kick your ass. If you’re interested in participating, the links are below. She posts a new workout every week (for 8 weeks) and along with my half-marathon training, I could potentially look like a Victorias Secret model by the end of July. Or be dead. 🙂

The Fitnessista Summer Shape-up Week 1

The Fitnessista Summer Shape-up Week 2

The Fitnessista Summer Shape-up Week 3

ANYWAY, good luck with that if you attempt it. They aren’t easy but I like the variation and who doesn’t love endorphins?

Completely unrelated side-note– Who has been in this situation before? You finally get up the nerve to clean out your closet and realize a lot of clothes you don’t wear anymore, so you think I’ll take it to a consignment store and get money for them! Hooray! And then you go to Plato’s Closet and they stare at you and say, “Sorry. We can’t take any of that.” And you’re like well, that’s rude because this is cute stuff and SORRY it doesn’t say Abercrombie on it anywhere….snooty bitches.

.. That DIDN’T happen to me today! But it’s happened to me before, so I know the pain of that situation. I went to a store on Mass Street (Arizona Trading Company) and they took almost all of my clothes! WAHOO! I made 17 bucks! Best. Day. Ever. Sort of. But when you think you aren’t going to make more than five dollars and then you make three times that, well.. that’s exciting right?

I’ve spent the rest of today applying for jobs and internships and eating too much hummus and broccoli. Looking forward to Dollar night. Trying to get excited about leaving Lawrence. Thinking my current fourth of July plans are looking bleak. Wishing I owned a lakehouse. Wishing I owned a moped. Wishing Harry Potter was real. Realizing that you can use a Gap credit card at other places than just Gap. Looking up the meaning of the word infrastructure (definition: The basic physical and organizational structures and facilities (e.g., buildings, roads, and power supplies) needed for the operation of a society or enterprise.) Wondering how I can slide this into a conversation with.. anyone. Thinking about boys. Thinking about clothes. Thinking I should paint my nails. Thinking I should bake brownies. More Hummus and Broccoli.

nomnomnom

Who says Mondays have to be boring? I have a volleyball game tonight. mostly we play against old drunk white people. Who typically suck. But, I like to win so this is ok.

Here’s a final thought. Sometimes, we forget we are living our own lives FOR OURSELVES instead of for someone else. You only get one. Why live it in a way you don’t want to just because you think thats what’s expected of you? So, I really hope you love your job. I really hope you love your life. Because if you don’t.. what’s stopping you from doing so?

SERIOUSLY!

To adventure and fun.. and Wednesdays.

-M

Leave a Reply

