On trying to be Superman…

You know, you can learn a lot about someone by asking them how they measure their own success.

Some pretty stereotypical answers may include:

  • money
  • power
  • fame
  • hot bitches…(and not just for rap stars anymore!)

And yes, I joke, but I have to wonder how many of you would agree with the above determinants of succeeding.

I always say I’ll know my own success in the future by how happy I am in the present. And being vague has kept me from a lot of disappointment because to be happy is such a undefined and fluid idea. If I’m happy right now with where I am, with what I am doing then who cares about some long term retardedly out of reach stretch goal in the future? Not me. Right?

It’s not that I’m not ambitious. Happiness includes doing well in a job and becoming wealthy, and having minions to meet my demands and endless admiring fans and hot men lining up the block for me. But that’s not the point. What’s my point??

Well I love a good metaphor (gosh, who doesn’t?) let’s give this one a spin:

I guess I see a lot of people around me killing themselves to be superman.

wearing this under your clothes does not help your case

Work hard now, reap the benefits later. It’s the American way. We want to rescue the world AND get the girl (or dude. whatever. roll with me on this one ok?) and we’ll be damned if we don’t do it. So we marry ourselves to things that will make that success story have a happy ending.

We’re married to our jobs.

We’re married to getting ahead.

Getting the grade.

Making the deal.

Building a foundation to stake our success on.

blahblahblah.

Don’t get me wrong, hard work ethic is definitely admirable. And I understand you have to work hard now to get where you want to go. But go on and ask yourself what you see success by. And then ask yourself if that success is going to make you happy. Because hey, I’m no expert on the matter but it seems to me that the most successful people in this world are those who were willing to work hard to save the day, but at the end of it know they are coming home to something. People who had people. And I don’t mean minions this time. I mean people who derived their success out of something more fluid. more undefined. Because you can be the most successful person in the world but if you don’t have people to share that success with.. all that money. that power. that fame…. isn’t shit. At least to me.

So if you’re killing yourself to be superman… go ahead! Save the day! Go climb that ladder of success. Go sign your life away. Do it in ink. Get a tattoo! But do it for the right reasons. Do it to get happiness…. Whatever you may find that happiness in.

And remember this. Even Superman had Lois Lane. And when it came down to who he was going to save first, there was never any question as to who that would be. Your career isn’t going to be waiting for you on the ground when you’re done playing a superhero. And if you’re up there long enough, you could come down and find out that your own version of Lois Lane.. got tired of waiting.

So to all my supermen out there–

Make it a successful (happy) Friday.

M

3 thoughts on “On trying to be Superman…

  1. Victoria says:

    I have a request. That you blog everyday, maybe even multiple times a day because I enjoy reading this blog AND its one of the only sites that is not blocked at school! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

